Confessions of a Left-Hand Knitter

Exploring the Possibilities

Definitions, Goals, and Progression

on March 13, 2013

What is left-hand knitting? Why is it special? Why am I devoting  an entire blog to this subject? Left hand knitting is working stitches off the right needle on to the left… picture example:leftknit image

In my humble beginnings of knitting, I tried to learn the “usual way” of left to right and needless to say it didn’t work out. At first, I felt defeated and felt that “maybe I was not meant to knit”; however, after countless videos and books… I started to just mimic the knitter and it clicked. I didn’t know I was knitting differently. I had the same results and was working the same stitches. It wasn’t until I began my first increase project (finger-less mitts) and realized that something was off. Although, many yarn communities (LYS, fellow knitters, online communities, etc) were supportive, there wasn’t much instructional materials, especially on YouTube.  Everywhere I turned, it was the same feeling “that’s great that you knit that way… but you can learn or take a class to learn the regular way to make things simple.”  What kind of crap is that!?!  So I am sick of being ashamed of how I knit… this is a blog to embrace my lefty-ness and to provide a resource for the lefty-knitter.

My personal goal is create a sweater by next winter… I have the Jacqueline by Karina Lui sweater jacket that I want to accomplish! I have the yarn (substituted) and the needles need to complete the project; however, at this time I am lacking the skills and confidence to start the project. In meantime, I plan to complete several projects in the hopes of building up to this awesome gorgeous sweater.

So I am currently working on the Hurricane Hat by Andrea Goutier and Rosie’s Yarn Cellar’s “Manos Cowl.” I have previously completed both patterns; however the hat did not turn out like the picture (damn pictures, lol). So I am trying it again… will follow with pictures of my progress on the hat. After the completion of these projects I will be working on my first lace shawl , Fall Breeze Shawl by Denise Twum. So excited!

Looking into the hat:

Hurrican Hat

Flat view:

Hurricane Hat Flat

Up close and personal:

Hurrican Hat close up

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cameron James' Mind

My thoughts on pop culture.

blackgirlsbelike

The inner thoughts of an educated Black Girl.

Tall N Curly™

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

The Ladies of Mischief

Follow the adventures of a steampunk production in needles and artifice.

What Are You Doing Here?

A Black Woman's Life and Liberation in Heavy Metal

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

DST North Jersey Alumnae Chapter - Physical and Mental Health

Wellness for your Mind, Body, Soul and Spirit

HBCUstory

Preserving, presenting + promoting the HBCU story.

THE K.JULES PROJECT

PASSION. PURPOSE. IMPACT.

Black Girls Like Me

Embody what it means to be a Star Girl, Embrace things that make you special, Empower yourself & follow your dreams!

orchestramanagement

Develop the orchestra world!

C.R.E.A.M.

Hip-Hop & Economics

museum geek

exploring museums, technology, and ideas

Drexel News Blog

Stories from Drexel University's media relations team

