Confessions of a Left-Hand Knitter

Exploring the Possibilities

Update on the Hurricane Hat and the start of the “Manos” Cowl

on March 19, 2013

So I finished the hurricane hat and I don’t hate it. I figured out my mistake and corrected them; however, still manged to miss something. I have concluded that this hat was designed to be worked on double-pointed needles (DPs). DPs sound so dirty to me… I know I am silly and immature but it makes me giggle… hehe. Anyhoo, so here are some pictures of the end result:

Image

IMG-20130316-00894

IMG-20130316-00895

Here are some photos from the first attempt of constructing this pattern:

IMG-20130125-00856

IMG-20130125-00857

IMG-20130125-00855

The obvious difference is the yarn. This time around I used Manos Wool Clasica Naturals instead of the extra fine merino/silk/cashmere blend (that was on sale :)) in the photo above. However, the construction is different as well. I am the kind of person that needs things to be simple and spelled out. The pattern tells you to start decreasing after the piece measures 6.5 in. from the bottom. What it does not tell ya is to continue to work the pattern before decreasing to keep the spiral effect. I notice that missing instruction this time around and quickly adjusted. I also switched to DPs (hehe) before completely finishing the decreases. Overall, I do like the pattern and I am happy that I pulled this off.  From the lefty point of view this pattern is “mirrored.” I followed the pattern exactly and my spirals are left instead of right. It’s a minor thing that only few will notice. However, in the end the results are the same. This concept will interplay later… the problem the lefty faces is increases. Decreasing seemed to be very simple; however increases seems to make me confuses and directionless. With this hat is the very simplistic yet awesome “manos” cowl. What this cowl consist of is Manos Wool Clasica Natural, Silk Blend,and Maxima all knitted together on size US 17 or 12.0mm 29′-40 circular needle. I am using 29.’ So far I am really really please with the color combination. Here are some picture of the process:

IMG-20130316-00901

IMG-20130316-00902

IMG-20130316-00910

IMG-20130316-00905

IMG-20130316-00914

IMG-20130316-00911

Will continue to keep you guys and gals posted on the on cowl and next time I will plan out the projects over the next months to prepare me for the sexy spectacular Jacqueline Sweater! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Cameron James' Mind

My thoughts on pop culture.

blackgirlsbelike

The inner thoughts of an educated Black Girl.

Tall N Curly

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

The Ladies of Mischief

Follow the adventures of a steampunk production in needles and artifice.

What Are You Doing Here?

A Black Woman's Life and Liberation in Heavy Metal

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

DST North Jersey Alumnae Chapter - Physical and Mental Health

Wellness for your Mind, Body, Soul and Spirit

HBCUstory

Preserving, presenting + promoting the HBCU story.

THE K.JULES PROJECT

PASSION. PURPOSE. IMPACT.

Black Girls Like Me

Embody what it means to be a Star Girl, Embrace things that make you special, Empower yourself & follow your dreams!

orchestramanagement

Develop the orchestra world!

C.R.E.A.M.

Hip-Hop & Economics

museum geek

exploring museums, technology, and ideas

Drexel News Blog

Stories from Drexel University's media relations team

