Confessions of a Left-Hand Knitter

Exploring the Possibilities

Seriously!!!! Stop buying YARN!!!!!

on August 26, 2013

I have finally hit it, a yarn wall. Every knitter has goals and aspirations for their yarn stash. At this time, my goal for my stash was to keep it contained to two containers. Oh have the mighty reach the limit.

I have finally reach the capacity of both my bins… And I have realized that I have a lot of yarn… Time to stash bust. As the summer comes to an end, I will document my last yarn haul and will not make a yarn purchase until the first day of spring 2014…. Time for discipline and restraint.

First up a June buy at the Lys shop, loop.

image

image

Worsted weight Bunny fiber yarn. About 350 yards of awesome goodness.  It does have a little alpaca in it; however it doesn’t bother my allergy. Needs to be a fun cowl.

Next is my July purchase at Rosie’s Yarn Cellar (my addiction headquarters).
image

I brought three skeins of Manos silk blend and two skeins of Manos Rittenhouse (on sale… Just couldn’t pass up the sale of a discontinued yarn) and two skeins of Shetland ( for swatching purposes).

And to end the summer and my compulsive yarn shopping, another trip to Rosie’s in August.
image
image

image

Yep that’s a whole bag of Noro yarn ( on sale for $60, ten in total) and two skeins of Manos Alegria. Why did I buy it? Did you see it, does there really have to be a reason. But I need to turn those sexy (s) into an awesome gorgeous shawl.

So there you have it my compulsive shopping and yarn addiction full frontal. I definitely need to stop buying yarn. I only hope I don’t lose my discount at Rosie’s? I might have to use that discount before it I lose it. But I am going to hold out for as long as I can. Maybe invest in more books. This yarn diet I need to keep. 🙂

2 responses to “Seriously!!!! Stop buying YARN!!!!!

  1. Susan says:

    I feel your pain! So hard to curb yarn purchases. Good luck:-))

Leave a Reply

Cameron James' Mind

My thoughts on pop culture.

blackgirlsbelike

The inner thoughts of an educated Black Girl.

Tall N Curly

Comics, music & stuff by Chey (Cheyan Lefebvre)

The Ladies of Mischief

Follow the adventures of a steampunk production in needles and artifice.

What Are You Doing Here?

A Black Woman's Life and Liberation in Heavy Metal

GOOD BLACK NEWS

Your Source For The Good Things Black People Do, Give and Receive All Over The World

DST North Jersey Alumnae Chapter - Physical and Mental Health

Wellness for your Mind, Body, Soul and Spirit

HBCUstory

Preserving, presenting + promoting the HBCU story.

THE K.JULES PROJECT

PASSION. PURPOSE. IMPACT.

Black Girls Like Me

Embody what it means to be a Star Girl, Embrace things that make you special, Empower yourself & follow your dreams!

orchestramanagement

Develop the orchestra world!

C.R.E.A.M.

Hip-Hop & Economics

museum geek

exploring museums, technology, and ideas

Drexel News Blog

Stories from Drexel University's media relations team

